Point Nepean And a New Camera.

Last weekend I picked up a new Pentax camera to serve as a backup to my Pentax K7.  The camera I purchased was the mirrorless Pentax K-01.  While it has a design that has often polarised people with equal numbers either loving and disliking it.  I got one because it has a similar sensor to the highly regarded K5 and gives superb image quality; and as a photographer I am more concerned with the image quality the camera produces rather than how it looks; besides I quite like its design!

To try out the K-01 I headed down to Point Nepean National Park in Victoria, which is the southern most point of entrance to Port Phillip Bay.  Point Nepean National Park has a colourful history:

  • It was inhabited 40 000 years ago by aboriginal people (the park is home to 70 aboriginal archaeological sites).
  • One of the oldest quarantine stations in Australia was built on the point in 1852
  • The SS Cheviot was wrecked off its coast in 1867 with the loss of over 30 lives.
  • Military forts were constructed on the point from 1878 onwards.
  • And finally, former Prime Minister of Australia Harold Holt went missing (presumed drowned) at Cheviot Beach in 1967.

As part of the quarantine station a Cattle jetty was built at Observatory Point in 1879, and while it is no longer complete the remains make an interesting subject to photograph.  After a 3 Km walk I arrived at the jetty at 8:30 pm took the shots below with the K-01.

point nepean 1 point nepean 2

I haven’t used the K-01 very much at the moment but so far I am very impressed with it and am looking forward to taking it out some more.

Join the conversation on Facebook @ facebook.com/aaronstottphotography

Leave a comment