Aireys Inlet

Earlier this year I purchased a Pentax K-01 as a backup for my Pentax K-7.  As the K-01 is a mirrorless camera I initially thought that I would miss the viewfinder, and while I did at first, I have come to really like using the LCD screen and find it much easier to compose a photograph on the LCD rather than with the viewfinder; especially as I wear glasses.  Although it was supposed to be a backup camera I am finding lately that I am using it more and more.  I find it a joy to use and out of the K7, ME Super, or K-01 the K-01 is the camera that for me at least begs to be used, when you pick it up you want to take photos with it.

Last week I purchased a  Pentax DA 21mm F3.2 Limited lens to go with the K-01.  This lens is one of Pentax’s ultra-thin pancake lenses and its small size makes it a great match with the K-01.

To try out the new lens I took it and the K-01 down to Aireys Inlet along the Great Ocean Road in Victoria (the ME Super came along too, but I have to get the film developed to see how those photos turned out). The photograph below was taken at Fairhaven beach which in 2008 was rated as one of the best beaches in Victoria.

Fairhaven beach - Aireys Inlet

Pentax K-01, Pentax DA 21mm f/3.2 ltd, ISO 100, f/8, 4 sec.

I am really happy with the DA 21 mm f3.2 limited lens.  The images it produces are incredibly sharp with stunning colours.  I think this lens could be the start of a collection of limited lenses; time to start saving for the 15 mm one!

Join the conversation on Facebook @ facebook/com/aaronstottphotography

Or visit my website www.aaronstottphotography.com.au

Leave a comment